Great Week, And an Invitation

Last week I spent a very enjoyable Tuesday with the Oklahoma City Region of the Indian Health Service. I think my clients must have enjoyed my presentations almost as much as I did. Not only did I get several nice compliments, but I was extremely honored when Area Director, Admiral Kevin Meeks presented me with a challenge coin. (Most of the participants at the conference were members of the US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, which uses Naval ranks.)

Laugh2Learn presented two programs: Rx for Stress: Laughter + Control, and Difficult Conversations. One of the points we always make in the stress presentation is how important it is to learn to laugh at one’s self. Not only is the laughter helpful, but if  you can laugh at something stupid you did, that event loses its power to embarrass you and make you uncomfortable. So I’d like to invite you to share your stories. Please, if you have an event that you need to laugh at, post it as a reply to this blog.

I’ll start: Many, many years ago when I was in basic training in the United States Air Force, our Drill Instructor was Sgt. LaFrance. He was a very short man, who spoke with a distinct accent. On of his favorite habits was to come up close behind us while we were shaving and say, “Eew better get a mewve on.” or “Eew better mewve.” Several of us, myself  included, developed the ability to mimic the good sergeant’s accent. We would come up behind a shaving Airman, bend our knees so that our face was about at his shoulder blades and say, “Eew better get a  mewve on.” One morning, as I was doing my LaFrance imitation, I heard a voice behind me: “Eew better get a mewve on too.” Still bent at the knees, I turned and, for perhaps the first time, looked the diminutive sergeant in the face. Immediately he ran from the room; I’m convinced so that we couldn’t hear his laughter. Neither of us ever mentioned the incident, but none of us imitated him again.

So there  you have it. I can tell you that when I turned and saw the sergeant, I was embarrassed and frightened. The look my face must have been priceless. Now if you would be so kind, I’d love to hear your stories. Please reply.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

